Old News:
Bob and I went to the newly opened Hopworks for lunch. I had high expectations that were shot down. They didn't have a cider. I did try their malt beer and couldn't drink it. The burger was delicious but after my foot surgery I was really looking forward to downing my Vicodin with some cider. Oh well.
2 thumbs down:
Hopworks
2944 SE Powell
New News:
I went for happy hour after work on Friday to the Someday Lounge where they for the first time since I've been there had Wyder's! I would like to think it was because of my incessant requests that cider made it on the menu... but maybe not. We'll have to see if they keep it stocked. This definitely increases the likelihood that I will be stopping by after work more often now!
1 thumb up:
Someday Lounge
125 NW 5th
I also made it out to Holocene last night for a show and found that they had bottled cider. Woodchuck even- which I was surprised to see in the mini-fridge. However I was disappointed to find it was 'granny smith.' Bob said I couldn't be upset becuase they had cider. It has to be better than nothing. However it doesn't make sense to me why bars would carry this kind of cider and not the standard apple cider. I can understand that you might want to carry a pear or green apple cider as a second option, but as the only cider option? Doesn't work for me. Although I guess Bob's right; I have to give them some effort points, and I can't dis them to badly because they make outrageously tasty mixed drinks.
1/2 thumb up:
Holocene
1001 SE Morrison
TO ALL THE GRAPHIC DESIGNERS OUT THERE - I could really use an image for my rating scale. Does anyone want to design something for me as I am not that creative? How about a shiny red apple for a positive rating and a rotting apple for a bad one?
Thursday, April 3, 2008
Saturday, March 22, 2008
Portland Cider Girl: Seattle Special Edition
We are in Seattle this weekend and are having a blast. Yesterday I got to have lunch with my cousin who I haven't seen in about 5 years. Last night we had some drinks at a bar called Smith on Capitol Hill. They had Ace cider- not my favorite, but at least I could have a cider. I tried some of the group pitcher of Pike Brewery Kilt Lifter and I must say I didn't make the bitter "eww" face. Interesting! My classmate Beth's boyfriend Don might have succeeded in finding a beer I 'like.' He convinced me to order a Hoegaarden and I drank it! He concluded that I must not like the hop taste and I should try more malty beers. Ok I'll give it a shot. We then went to the Elysian Brewpub where I enjoyed a large bottle of Aspall with my ham and gruyere panini!Today we rode a ferry with Brendon and Mel and drank beer/wine on the way over! We went to the perfect town of Bainbridge Island where we had delicious pie at a little coffee shop and one of their friends showed us around this awesome nature center/school/learning center called IslandWood. We came back to Seattle and enjoyed happy hour at Cascadia. We all tried their famous Alpine martinis (Bacardi lemon with a scoop of Doug Fir sherbet- and yes it tasted like a tree but in a good sweet way)! Now we are cooking pasta at Beth's and plan on going to see Born Ruffians tonight. It's been a great weekend.
Thursday, March 20, 2008
New Discoveries
My friend told me tonight that a local grocer caries Woodchuck and Fox Barrel! That made my night. Thanks for watching my back Hannah. I will have to make a run when I return from Seattle. I am heading up there this weekend with Bob and a classmate who's boyfriend is determined to find a beer that I like (he's a brewer). I will have to see if the brewpubs around there have a better cider selection... Portland has some competition.
Made my way to Bridgeport tonight for a end-of-the-term MURP celebration and they had Strongbow, but not on tap.
1/2 thumb up:
Bridgeport Brewpub
1313 NW Marshall
PS-I am looking for an artistic type to create a rating system for me. I've decided I don't like thumbs. If you have any suggestions send them my way: morganmasterman@gmail.com
Made my way to Bridgeport tonight for a end-of-the-term MURP celebration and they had Strongbow, but not on tap.
1/2 thumb up:
Bridgeport Brewpub
1313 NW Marshall
PS-I am looking for an artistic type to create a rating system for me. I've decided I don't like thumbs. If you have any suggestions send them my way: morganmasterman@gmail.com
Tuesday, March 18, 2008
St Patty's Day Desire
So I went to this Irish bar last night with some friends. I was really hoping for the cider, but alas, 34 beers on tap and they can't reserve one for some delicious apple juice? Man I was bummed, so I ended up drinking rum and cokes and my favorite vodka and sours. Bob came to rescue me from the Tom Petty cover band: we wanted to go to Biddy's. He had just come from a final in biomedical ethics and I needed my cider. But with a $10 cover we decided to head home where Bob knew there was Guiness in the fridge. We first made a quick stop at this horrible little 24-hour diner called TikTok Around the Clock on 82nd. Although my Belgian waffle was decent, the service sucked and Bob's Irish coffee was just not right... We have been wanting to check this place out for a while so I'm glad we know it's only good if you desperately need beer battered fries at 4 in the morning (and are most likely drunk). Well, it's been 4 days since my last cider on tap, and I'm jonesing- we'll see where tonight brings me... Until next time
2 Thumbs Down:
Katie O'Briens
2809 NE Sandy Blvd
2 Thumbs Down:
Katie O'Briens
2809 NE Sandy Blvd
Sunday, March 16, 2008
Tastebuds for Cider

Went back to Lucky Lab and had some more cider. This time it was a different kind- much better. Thursday night it was Spire Dark and Dry. Friday they had switched over to Fox Barrel Black Currant. I aksed the bartender how often they switched ciders, and he said whenever they run out of one keg they switch to another and they rotate about 4 different kinds. I don't think I had ever had that kind before and I really enjoyed it. Definitely drier than Spire, which even though it's called Dark and Dry seemed super sweet to me.
Went to a party last night and brought along my 6-pack of Hornsby's Amber! Mariah is now my official Cider Puta! I miss Woodchuck.
Friday, March 14, 2008
And already- frustrations!
So I told my significant other that I was starting this blog and now he won't stop making fun of me. All night he has been using chat talk. He will see, when I am Portland's premier cider critic and bars pay for me to come to drink their cider! I can't wait.
What I do best
It's hard living in Portland and not liking beer. So many nights I am forced to drink screwdrivers. Not that this is always a bad thing... All my friends know that I don't drink beer and they try their best to go places with me that they know have cider.
Last night after drinking a pitcher of cider at Lucky Lab I decided I would start a blog dedicated to cider in Portland: my favorite cider, where to find it, how it's made, what bars have it on tap... I've never blogged before so forgive my virgin ways. If you have any suggestions on places to go and people to talk to let me know.
2 Thumbs Up:
Lucky Lab
915 SE Hawthorne
Last night after drinking a pitcher of cider at Lucky Lab I decided I would start a blog dedicated to cider in Portland: my favorite cider, where to find it, how it's made, what bars have it on tap... I've never blogged before so forgive my virgin ways. If you have any suggestions on places to go and people to talk to let me know.
2 Thumbs Up:
Lucky Lab
915 SE Hawthorne
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)